Let's Just Try It

a compilation of inspiration and creative endeavors of a mom and daughter duo

Easy Pesto Pasta with Chicken and Tomato for a Crowd

 

The first time I tasted the food combination of pesto and tomatoes, I immediately ranked it as one of my favorite flavor combos. There is something about the sweetness of a tomato and the freshness and fragrance of basil that makes me smile.

My latest cooking challenge has been to come up with healthy (ish) dishes to feed to my staff of nearly 30 people twice a week. To add to the challenge is the lack of any cooking facilities at the office – other than a small microwave and a small fridge.  My (and Elizabeth’s) crockpots have become my tool of choice, if for no other reason than to heat the food through.  Our new offices will have more to offer, but for now it’s all about invention 🙂

While this is in no way a great inventive recipe, it worked really well for my purposes, but would also make a great meal for two.

Yield: 30+ servings

Ingredients :

            2 kg Spiral Pasta                         

     12 large chicken breasts, cut into pieces

            250 grams prepared pesto   

     500 grams cocktail sized tomatoes                    

             1 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

           Fresh basil, torn into small pieces  

Step One: Cook spiral pasta in boiling water until just tender – drain and set aside

Step Two: While pasta cooks, cook chicken in a skillet with a drizzle of olive oil – season with pepper, salt and garlic powder

Step Three: Mix chicken and pasta together, including cooking fluid from chicken for flavor

Step Four: Add pesto a large spoonful at a time, mixing well each time

Step Five: Quarter plum tomatoes and toss into pasta mixture. Season with salt and pepper if needed

Step Six: Add grated parmesan and fresh torn basil

Easy Peasy as they say – and healthy too! Served with some french bread and it is a great meal – hot or cold.

2 responses to “Easy Pesto Pasta with Chicken and Tomato for a Crowd

  1. frugalfeeding August 16, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Wow. I love simple pasta dishes like this. Pesto and tomato is one of my favourite, if not my favourite, taste combinations. Simply stunning.

  2. kat August 17, 2011 at 7:17 am

    YUM! That looks delicious! I think I just might have to make this tmr! I love how light and not carb heavy it is (even though it’s pasta) hahah. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a comment