Let's Just Try It

a compilation of inspiration and creative endeavors of a mom and daughter duo

Acrylic Painting on Canvas-Coffee Love

For years I have painted with acrylics – but never on canvas. This was my first official leap into acrylic painting on canvas, and is my usual method I just jumped in head first. Freehand drawing the coffee cup and grabbing my favorite colours, the result was acceptable and I had a lot of fun working the background. It hangs happily in my kitchen now – right above my favorite spot to have a cup of coffee with a friend.

12″x12″ Acrylic on Stretched Canvas

3 things learned:

  • If painting in light translucent colours – don’t use a dark line to draw your design (duh!)
  • Add extender to your paint if you want to work in multiple shades into an area-it keeps the quick drying acrylic paint wetter longer for blending
  • Finish off an outline easily with a paint marker for a fun relaxed finish
Leave a Reply

